Back to Basic Series- What are your five go to materials?

Now that I am back from holiday break, I am trying to plan for the first school week of the new year.  Since I am still on vacation time I am definitely thinking of how I can, “work smarter, not harder.”

I downloaded some quick activities on Pinterest, Teachers Pay Teachers, Speech Room News, Crazy Speech World and pulled out some of my own materials.   As I was looking through these activities, I realized that they would not take the full 30 minutes for the student’s to complete.  I then started thinking, “What are my go-to activities/materials? What are the things that I could grab on the fly and still have a great session?  What are the materials I should have readily available if my students breeze through one of my downloaded activities?”

I was then reminded of a conversation that I had with my intern. She told me that a fellow student was on an interview and was asked, “If you could only have three materials for therapy what would they be.?”

This is a tough question.  It was hard for me to come up with three (if I had to choose it would be pencil, paper and a ball) so here are my top five::1001007_w

1. Dry Erase Marker
2. Small white board
3. Ball
4. Webber’s Jumbo Articulation Book
5. Bubbles

What would be yours?   For the next week, I am going to see if I had these five items available as a back up activity, would my students be engaged and can I still target their goals?   Stay tuned for next week’s blog to see if I would change anything on my list.

I challenge you to come up with a list of 5 items and use them when you need an activity on the go.  No electronics, just keep it simple and take it, “back to the basics.”

I would love to hear your comments on what you would choose or if you were successful at the challenge.

 

Happy New Year!

 

*image from http://www.superduperinc.com January 2015

Leave a Reply

